Evansville Educator to Receive The California Casualty Award for Teaching Excellence

Evansville Educator to Receive

The California Casualty Award for Teaching Excellence

Deborah Hartz to be honored by California Casualty and the NEA Foundation at Washington, DC Awards Gala


WASHINGTON, DC (June 26, 2013) – Deborah Hartz, a District Lead Coach at Academy of Innovative Studies−Diamond Campus in Evansville, IN, is a recipient of the California Casualty Award for Teaching Excellence, one of the nation’s most prestigious honors for public school educators.


Hartz is one of 36 awardees who will be honored at the NEA Foundation’s Salute to Excellence in Education Gala to be held in Washington, DC on February 7, 2014. Known as the Academy Awards of public education, the gala attracts more than 850 of the nation’s leaders from public education, philanthropy, and the private sector.

“We give these awards annually to honor and promote excellence in education and to elevate the profession. Educators like these are critical to their students’ academic success, and they deserve national recognition.” said Harriet Sanford, President and CEO of the NEA Foundation. “We are thrilled that California Casualty has joined us again this year to pay tribute to educators who are making such a difference in the lives of students in classrooms across the country.”  

“Educating our youth is so critically important. California Casualty is proud to partner with the NEA Foundation to pause and celebrate excellence in teaching,” said Beau Brown, Chairman and CEO of California Casualty.

Hartz was nominated by the Indiana State Teachers Association, the National Education Association’s state affiliate in Indiana. Photos and names of all of the awardees can be found on the NEA Foundation website. Each awardee’s school will receive a $650 award. 


From the 36 state awardees, five finalists will be selected to receive $10,000 cash awards.  At the conclusion of the Washington, DC awards gala, one finalist will be named the nation’s top educator and receive an additional $25,000.


The NEA Foundation and the National Education Association jointly present the awards with support from California Casualty, NEA Member Benefits, Pearson Foundation, and the Horace Mann Educators’ Corporation.


The NEA Foundation

The NEA Foundation is a public charity supported by contributions from educators' dues, corporate sponsors, and others. We support student success by helping public school educators work with key partners to build strong systems of shared responsibility. Visit www.neafoundation.org for more information.

Live Chat Software

Facebook   Twitter   YouTube   Flickr