Minority Affairs Committee

(ISTA Bylaws, Article IV, Section 6)

 

“The Minority Affairs Committee shall be a special Standing Committee composed of one (1) member elected from each District and ISTA-Retired, representative of the following ethnic minorities within the Association membership: Black Americans, American Indians/Alaskan Natives, Hispanics, Asians, Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islanders; provided, however, that each ethnic minority category shall be guaranteed at least one (1) representative, when possible. The president shall designate the chairperson annually. Members of this Committee shall be elected from Districts 1-A through 1-M and Districts 2-A through 2-F, 5-A (Institutional Teachers) and ISTA-Retired in odd-numbered years and from 2-G through 2-L and Districts 3-A through 3-J and 4-A (Educational Support Professionals) in even-numbered years. Except as provided below, the Districts and ISTA-Retired shall elect their members at the Assembly. Elected and appointed members’ terms of office shall be from August 1 through July 31, except as otherwise provided in these By-laws. The Ethnic Minority At-large members on the Board of Directors shall serve as exofficio members to the Minority Affairs Committee.

 

The president may appoint additional at-large ethnic minority members to the Committee for either of two (2) purposes: first, to ensure representation of all ethnic minorities, when possible; and second, to bring the total membership of the Committee closer to the full authorized complement of one (1) member per District when long-term vacancies exist. In the event that any district position of the Committee remains continuously unfilled through two (2) consecutive meetings of the Assembly, such position will be deemed to be a long-term vacancy. For purposes of this paragraph, the president may appoint up to four (4) members of the Committee or two-thirds (2/3) the number of long-term vacancies, whichever number shall be the greater.

 

The election for this ISTA-Retired Committee member shall be conducted by an every member ballot of eligible ISTA-Retired members. Procedures for this special election shall be determined by the Board of Directors.

 

This Committee will deal with monitoring the minority guarantees provided in our NEA and Association documents, providing minority input into Association programs and services, and increasing ethnic minority membership and participation in the Association. It shall research, develop, and recommend to the appropriate bodies primarily in the stated areas.

 

The Committee shall make a report at meetings of the Assembly”

 

2012-13 Minority Plan

Katherine Ostrozovich
Primary Email: kostrozo@cps.k12.in.us
School: WINFIELD TWP ELEMENTARY
District: 1A
 
Carol Carter
Primary Email: ccarter54@comcast.net
School: CLEAR CREEK ELEMENTARY
District: 3B
 
Valgenia Mccray
Primary Email: vmccray@ngsc.k12.in.us
School: PRINCETON COMMUNITY HIGH
District: 3I
 
Cheryl Simmons
Primary Email: csimmons@kokomo.k12.in.us
School: SYCAMORE ELEMENTARY
District: 2F
 
Hilda Kendrick-Appiah
Primary Email: hkendrick@gcs.k12.in.us
School: UTICA ELEMENTARY
District: 3G
 
Judith Abram-Odigboh
Primary Email: judith.abram@fwcs.k12.in.us
School: SOUTH SIDE HIGH
District: 1L
 
Ralph Fireoved
Primary Email: fireovedr@mcsin-k12.org
School: HERITAGE INTERMEDIATE
District: 1F
 
Lourdes Davis-Gordon
Primary Email: ldavis@delcomschools.org
School: DELTA HIGH
District: 2J
 
Charan Richards
Primary Email: cjr140c@aol.com
School: RILEY HS
District: 1D
 
Deborah Garrett-Blackwell
Primary Email: garretd@ips.k12.in.us
School: IPS SCHOOL (14)
District: 2D
 
Tiffany Belcher
Primary Email: tbelcher@eacs.k12.in.us
School: NEW HAVEN INTERMEDIATE
District: 1K
 
Cheryl Lone
Primary Email: lonec@shcsc.k12.in.us
School: CORYDON ELEMENTARY
District: 3F
 
Tequia Mccullough-Barrett
Primary Email: jazbri@aol.com
School: CAZE ELEMENTARY
District: 3J
 
Wanda Akins
Primary Email:
School: TRANSPORTATION DEPARTMENT
District: 1C
 
Henry Lewis
Primary Email: hlljr1@aol.com
School: RIVERSIDE JR HIGH
District: 2G
 
Angie Kirkham
Primary Email: akirkham0306@gmail.com
School: CLIFTY CREEK ELEMENTARY
District: 3H
 
Kandel Baxter
Primary Email: kbaxter@valpo.k12.in.us
School: THOMAS JEFFERSON MID
District: 1C
 
Jessica Ramirez
Primary Email: jessissa@gmail.com
School: NORTH SIDE MIDDLE
District: 1E
 
Karen Wright
Primary Email: kwright13@indy.rr.com
School: BROWN ELEMENTARY
District: 2C
 
Dushaun Goings
Primary Email: dlgoings@yahoo.com
School: TECUMSEH
District: 2A